Skip to main content

Take the Test

Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting in Pennsylvania (3 Hours)
Mandated Reporter Training

You can take the test without obligation. To earn CE credit, you need to pass the test, complete an evaluation, and register/pay for your Certificate of Completion. Your Certificate will be delivered online immediately upon completing the course registration. (There is no charge for free courses and online certificate delivery.)

  • You must score 70% or better to pass this test.
  • Select one answer for each question.
  • Review your selections before submitting the test for grading.
Test Question

1. The goal of the child welfare system in Pennsylvania is to:

Test Question

2. The Child Welfare Information Solution is a contemporary case management system in Pennsylvania that provides immediate electronic sharing of:

Test Question

3. In assessing a report of suspected child abuse made to the state’s ChildLine hotline, the ChildLine caseworker will refer the case to:

Test Question

4. Changes to Pennsylvania’s child abuse laws do not include the following:

Test Question

5. Which instance of harm to child is considered an “exclusion to reporting”?

Test Question

6. Which circumstance is an “exclusion to substantiating child abuse” under Section 6304 of the CPSL but should still be reported to ChildLine?

Test Question

7. A mother brings her 2-month-old female baby into the emergency department at 10 p.m. She tells the triage nurse that the baby has been vomiting ever since dinnertime. The nurse notes a bruise on the baby’s right temple, and the mother explains that the baby hit her head on the doorframe while being carried earlier that day. Which statement describes an accurate nursing assessment by the triage nurse?

Test Question

8. The school nurse notices that a 6-year-old female child has a bruise on her right ear and three bruises on her right cheek. The child says that she fell while playing with her brother’s skateboard. She has no other bruises or abrasions on her face, palms, or legs. She lives with her mother and her teenage brother. She is an average student and is occasionally disruptive in the classroom. Which factor might lead the nurse to make a mandated report of suspected abuse?

Test Question

9. The mother of a male baby reports that the baby was subdued when she picked him up from the babysitter the previous evening, and his lethargy has worsened over the past eight hours. The triage nurse suspects possible abusive head trauma when observing which other sign or symptom?

Test Question

10. A grandmother awakens one night to discover her 13-year-old granddaughter and the girl’s 16-year-old male cousin involved in a sexual act on the living room sofa. The grandmother hits the boy several times and then wakes up the family. The girl’s parents drive her to the nearest hospital, where she is examined and offered emergency contraception. The physician who examines the girl:

Test Question

11. Which is a true statement about child sexual abuse?

Test Question

12. What is an indicator that a female adolescent may be a victim of sex trafficking?

Test Question

13. Under Pennsylvania’s Safe Haven Law, parents can avoid criminal prosecution when abandoning an infant:

Test Question

14. When child sexual abuse is suspected, the best way to question a child is to:

Test Question

15. Mandated reporters in Pennsylvania are required to report suspected child abuse:

Test Question

16. Perhaps the most serious consequence of a mandated reporter’s failure to report a case of suspected child abuse is:

Test Question

17. A nurse reports a suspected incidence of child abuse after treating a child with unexplained swelling and bruising in the emergency department. Referencing to the Right-to-Know rule, the nurse later contacts the DHS to request information about the:


Back to Top