Iowa Mandatory Abuse Reporter Training
License Renewal Information for Iowa Nurses
Iowa State-Mandated Courses
| Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training in Iowa: Abuse Identification and Reporting
REQUIRED FOR IOWA MANDATORY REPORTERS 2-hour course approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health providing evidence-based information and tools for accurately identifying and reporting child abuse in Iowa, as required by Iowa state laws for mandatory reporters. Fulfills the 2-hour CE requirement for Iowa mandated reporters who regularly examine, attend, counsel, or treat children in Iowa.
| Dependent Adult Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training in Iowa: Abuse Identification and Reporting
REQUIRED FOR IOWA MANDATORY REPORTERS Fulfills the 2-hour CE requirement for Iowa mandatory reporters who regularly examine, attend, counsel, or treat dependent adults in Iowa. Approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health.
Iowa License Renewal Information
Nursing CEU Requirements
The Iowa Board of Nursing and other licensing boards requires a person who regularly examines, attends, counsels, or treats dependent adults or children in Iowa to accurately document compliance with training requirements on abuse education and/or dependent adult abuse, upon renewal of licensure.
Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training in Iowa: Abuse Identification and Reporting
Approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health (DOH), approval number 3896
Any LPN, RN or ARNP who has contact with children and/or dependent adults in the course of their work are considered to be mandatory reporters.
At the time of license renewal, the board of nursing requires that licensees have completed the abuse training. The abuse training must be completed every five (5) years.
Continuing education is mandated by Iowa law as a prerequisite to renew RN and LPN licenses. The requirement is as follows:
- For renewal of a three year license, the requirement is 36 contact hours or 3.6 CEUs.
- For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs.
Nurses must complete nursing CE within the license renewal period. The timeframe when a licensee may take CE coursework to count toward license renewal begins the 16th of the birth month, and runs until the nurse renews his/her license for the next renewal period. Licensees should plan to renew 30 to 60 days prior to the expiration date listed on their nursing license wallet card. When a nurse prepares to renew his/her license, CE requirements must be completed, and documentation should be in-hand.
2 hour Dependent Adult Abuse in Iowa course - coming soon!
Updated: July 2017, for details, always refer to the Iowa BON.