Skip to main content

Act 31 - Mandatory Child Abuse CEU
Course Requirement for Pennsylvania

Are you a nurse or other healthcare professional licensed in Pennsylvania? Are you planning to apply for or renew your license in Pennsylvania either with the PA Board of Nursing or any other state board?
Here is some crucial information for you to know in order to comply with PA’s mandatory Act 31 continuing education requirement on recognizing and reporting child abuse:

A road sign with the lettering stop child abuse

Why do I need to take the Act 31 Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting course?

Act 31 states that the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of Human Services (DHS), is required to ensure that all personnel applying for issuance of a health-related license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of initial licensure and 2 hours of training as a condition of license renewal.
This requirement is in effect for anybody applying for an initial license or renewing any medical or healthcare license—doctors, dentists, dental hygienists, nurses, occupational and physical therapists, funeral directors, child care providers, and many more professions. It must be fulfilled in order to be licensed and allowed to work in Pennsylvania.

I don’t work with children. Do I still need to take an Act 31 Child Abuse course?

Yes. Act 31 applies to all health-related licensees whether or not they work actively with children (except for licensees of the State Board of Veterinary Medicine) and regardless of whether they are subject to general continuing education requirements by their applicable state board. For example, although licensed practical nurses have no independent continuing education requirement at this time, they are still required to complete an approved Act 31 child abuse continuing education course.

Is the Act 31 course a one-time requirement?

No. The Pennsylvania Department of State requires a 3-contact-hour course on Act 31 Child Abuse for an initial PA license application and a 2-hour course for each subsequent license renewal. This applies to both PA nursing license renewals and other applicable license renewals.

Are the Wild Iris "Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting in Pennsylvania" courses approved for all mandated reporters?

Yes. If you are required to take the Pennsylvania Act 31 Child Abuse course, Wild Iris Medical Education is the approved provider for you.
The Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS) (PA CE Provider Number CACE000034) has approved Wild Iris Medical Education to offer both the 3-hour course for initial licensure and the 2-hour course for license renewal. These two Act 31 courses are offered online on Wild Iris Medical Education’s website and updated regularly.
Our Act 31 courses not only provide nursing CEU for PA, but are appropriate for all mandated reporters:

  • Nurse (RN/LPN)
  • Nurse Practitioner (ARNP)
  • Physician
  • Physician Assistant
  • Surgeon
  • Doctor
  • Dentist
  • Dental Hygienist
  • Funeral Director
  • Occupational Therapist or Occupational Therapy Assistant
  • Physical Therapist or Physical Therapy Assistant
  • Massage Therapist
  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)
  • Psychologist
  • Mental Health Professional
  • Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)
  • School Counselor
  • Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT)
  • Pharmacist
  • Medical Assistant
  • Daycare Worker
  • Dietitian
  • Orthotist
  • Prosthetist
  • Case Manager
  • Podiatrist
  • And many other professions
Map of Pennsylvania

Will Wild Iris Medical Education report my course completion directly to the State of Pennsylvania?

Yes. As an approved provider by the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services for the Act 31 Child Abuse requirement, Wild Iris Medical Education reports all course completions automatically to the PA Department of State (DOS).

Electronic Reporting

How quickly do you report?

We report successful course completions electronically to the PA Department of State within 24 hours. Reporting is done for all professions, including but not limited to nursing, dental, and medicine. The PA Department of State then processes records received within 1-10 days and reports directly to the appropriate state board (i.e. PA Board of Nursing, PA Board of Medicine, PA Board of Dentistry, etc.).
You can also check on the progress of your license renewal online at:
https://www.pals.pa.gov/#/page/search
or
https://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/L2KSupportSite/TicketDetails

How long is my Act 31 Mandated Reporter Training Certificate good for?

Certificates of completion are valid until your next license renewal date. The 2-hour version of the Act 31 Child Abuse course must be taken again each time you renew your PA license. This is true for nurses reporting to the PA Board of Nursing as well as any other professional who must comply with this PA Board requirement, such as physicians, dentists, funeral directors, and many more.

What are the benefits of completing my requirement with Wild Iris Medical Education?

Wild Iris Medical Education differentiates itself by:

  • Providing you with the highest-quality evidence-based content
  • Updating our course content on a strict revision cycle
  • Asking you to pay only after successfully completing a course
  • Allowing you the freedom to take a course anytime, anywhere
  • Providing you with an instant certificate of completion
  • Reporting your PA course completion directly to the PA DOS within 24 hours

Our satisfied Pennsylvania customers say it best:
“Great 2-hour review. Worthwhile. Although I don't work with children, I have found myself in the position to report.”
“Best one I have taken to date!!!”
“Exceptionally well presented.”
“Very satisfied with the experience.”
“Excellent course. It provides the facts.”
“Thank you. I learned a lot more than I knew before I took this course.”

This year marks the 21st anniversary of Wild Iris Medical Education’s founding. Since 1998, we have provided excellent online continuing education to nurses and other healthcare professionals.
Visit us and fulfill your PA Act 31 requirement today.


Sign up for our newsletter email list and like us on Facebook and Instagram to be among the first to know about all our special discounts and offers!


About Wild Iris Medical Education:

Wild Iris Medical Education, Inc., is a privately held, woman-owned company providing online healthcare continuing education since 1998. We offer online ANCC-accredited nursing continuing education courses, including CEUs for nursing case managers, occupational therapists, physical therapists, paramedics, EMTs, and other healthcare professionals.


Accredited and Approved Nationwide.
High-quality CEU Courses since 1998.

ANCC Accredited Nursing CE Provider AOTA Approved CE Provider California PT Board Continuing Competency Agency CA EMSA Approved CE Provider CCMC Approved CE Provider Women Owned Business

Join Us and Become One of Our Million+ Satisfied Customers Today!

High-quality, accredited, evidenced-based continuing education courses in an easy-to-use format designed for learning, from Wild Iris Medical Education. We've been providing online CE since 1998.

Back to Top