Florida Required Continuing Education Courses
License Renewal Information for Florida Healthcare Professionals
Accredited and Approved
- FL Board of Nursing provider
- AOTA approved provider
- Daily CE Broker reporting for existing FL licensees
- Florida License Renewal Information
- Complete CEU Course List
Florida State-Mandated Courses
| Domestic Violence Education for Florida Nurses
REQUIRED FOR FLORIDA RN/LPN/CNS/ARNP Fulfills the Florida requirement for 2 hours of continuing education on domestic violence for RNs, LPNs, CNSs, and ARNPs. We report to CE Broker.
| Florida Laws and Rules for Nursing
REQUIRED FOR FLORIDA LICENSED NURSES Fulfills the Florida Board of Nursing requirement for 2 contact hours on laws and rules governing practice of nursing in Florida.
| Florida Occupational Therapy Laws and Rules
REQUIRED FOR OT/OTA This course fulfills the requirement for 2 hours on the laws and rules governing the practice of occupational therapy in Florida; includes licensing requirements, discipline, penalties, ethical and legal issues, use of prescription devices. Approved by the FL Board of Occupational Therapy and CE Broker.
| HIV/AIDS for Florida Healthcare Professionals
REQUIRED: SEE APPROVED LICENSES Fulfills the 1-hour HIV/AIDS continuing education requirement for healthcare professionals in Florida. Overview of incidence, etiology, HIV transmission, testing, FL testing and informed consent laws, occupational infection control measures, and clinical management of HIV/AIDS.
| Human Trafficking Training for Florida Nurses and Other Healthcare Professionals: Identifying Victims of Human Trafficking
REQUIRED FOR FLORIDA RN/LPN/ARNP/CNS; OT; Respiratory Therapists Fulfills the requirement for 2 hours of CE on human trafficking. Course includes how to recognize indicators of human trafficking, assessment tools, trauma-informed approach in screening, and reporting obligations for mandated reporters in Florida. FL BoN provider NCE3403; accepted by the Florida Board of Respiratory Therapy.
| Prevention of Medical Errors for Florida Healthcare Professionals
REQUIRED: SEE APPROVED LICENSES This course fulfills the 2-hour Florida requirement for reporting and prevention of medical errors. Covers preventing medical errors in the practice setting and Florida's medical error reporting requirements.
| Prevention of Medical Errors for Florida Occupational Therapists
REQUIRED FOR FLORIDA OT/OTA This course fulfills the 2-hour requirement for reporting and prevention of medical errors. Covers preventing medical errors in the practice setting, common medical errors, and Florida's medical error reporting requirements. Approved by the Florida Board of Occupational Therapy.
| Prevention of Medical Errors for Florida Physical Therapy
REQUIRED FOR FLORIDA PT/PTA This course fulfills the 2-hour Florida requirement for reporting and prevention of medical errors. Approved by the FL Board of Physical Therapy Practice.
| Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace for Florida Nurses
REQUIRED FOR FL RN/LPN/ARNP/CNS Fulfills requirement for 2 hours of CE on recognizing and responding to signs and behaviors that may be associated with impairment in the workplace.
Florida License Renewal Information
Nursing CEU Requirements
Licensees of the Florida Board of Nursing are required to renew their licenses every two years.
Wild Iris Medical Education is a Florida BON approved CE provider #NCE3403.
Florida RNs and LPNs need 20 general hours and the following mandated courses:
2 hours of Domestic Violence:
2 hours of Florida Laws and Rules:
1 hour of HIV/AIDS:
2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors:
2 hours of Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace:
2 hour CE course on Human Trafficking: CEU course coming soon!
All nursing professionals must complete this course every biennium beginning January 1, 2019. The first licensees who will need to fulfill this CE requirement are those renewing April 30, 2019.
Registered Nurse (RN) licenses expire April 30 and July 31 in even years, and April 30 in uneven years.
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) licenses are renewed on July 31 in uneven years.
Updated: July 2017, for details, always refer to State of Florida BON.
Occupational Therapy CEU Requirements
The Florida Board of Occupational Therapy requires FL Occupational Therapists (OT) and Occupational Therapy Assistans (OTA) to take 22 hours of general continuing education plus the following mandatory CE courses:
2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors:
2 hours of Laws and Rules:
Florida Occupational Therapy license renewal is February 28 in uneven years.
Updated: July 2017, for details, always refer to the State of Florida Board of Occupational Therapy
Physical Therapy CEU Requirements
The Florida Board of Physical Therapy requires FL Physical Therapists (PT) and Physical Therapy Assistants (PTA) to take 22 general continuing education hours plus the following courses.
Note: Only 12 hours may come from home study/online courses.
Florida Physical Therapy license renewal is November 20 of uneven years.
These CE courses are required and are the only courses approved for Florida PTs/PTAs:
2 hours Medical Error:
1 hour HIV/AIDS:
Updated: July 2017, for details, always refer to the State of Florida Physical Therapy Board